This past weekend, Jimmie Johnson and his team demonstrated why they have won the past 4 championships. When he spun early, Johnson incredibly stayed off the walls and away from other cars. Then, his team helped him out by getting him on and off pit road without incident making the necessary changes and keeping up with the track in order to propel Johnson to a third place finish.
Meanwhile, the other Chasers all missed the opportunity to capitalize. At one point, and even for a few laps after Johnson slipped up on the track, it looked as though the Chase was going to be fun again. But, for a guy who qualified poorly and spun early, a third place finish and extending his lead really says it all. Jimmie Johnson and his team are very very good. Lucky, yeah, but they make their luck.
I almost feel bad for Gordon, but for Hamlin, because he wants it so bad and almost comes across as entitled to it, I cannot pull for him. And Harvick, with his mouth and ego, never.
So what's left?
I guess enjoying McMurray win was fun. Also seeing Kyle finish second is always fun because I know no one wants to win more than he does. But really, I wish Kyle was in it still and I really want to see him win one. Although he is brash, he is honest, and he is passionate, and at the heart of it all, he is a racer. Hamlin, Harvick, and a handful of others are a bit ego first and racer second.
PaulGozzo
P Gozzo
P Gozzo Racing
No comments:
Post a Comment