Is it me or does Denny Hamlin make it hard for you to like him too?
In watching Denny get better and better each year, along with Joe Gibbs racing, I can't help but think of the way Jimmy Johnson raced so well for years collecting wins but not yet championships before he won 4 in a row. I thought this year, maybe Denny Hamlin finally will win this thing. But, and this is a big one, but I am not sure I want him to win it especially after his arrogant comments this weekend before the race at Dover. Why would he get involved in talking trash about RCR's problems? Yes, there is a psychological aspect of racing especially at the highest levels, but his comments served no psychological effect. They only served as a distraction for him and his team and gave the edge to.....not RCR, but ole 4 time, Jimmy Johnson. Yes, that's right, Jimmy Johnson was the winner in the Hamlin/RCR feud and until he is beat, Jimmy Johnson is the man to beat. So as much as Hamlin likes himself, his season so far, and his points lead, he isn't the authority yet until he wins a championship, so he is going to have to get a little more diplomatic with his mouth.
Ya know who else won the RCR/Hamlin battle this week? Denny's teammate, Kyle Bush. Ya that's right. Kyle is quietly putting together a championship season and doing it by not pissing anyone off. Well, anyone who could hurt him. He has ruffled a few feathers of the younger drivers, but that is part of the hazing/growing process at the top level. My point is that as long as the Bush is not in the spotlight for negative stuff, the lack of distractions will help him to perform.
Two races into the Chase, Hamlin is in the lead, Johnson in second, and this year's champion is somewhere between 3rd and 8th....because Kyle, Kurt, Kevin, Carl, Jeff or Jeff is going to win it.
No one is going to cut Denny or Jimmy any slack and as the racing gets tougher and tougher the closer we get to Homestead, the guy who has friends out there and can drive aggressively at the same time will win this year's championship. Does this sound like Kyle Bush? Kurt Bush (not sure about how many friends he has out there) ? Kevin Harvick? Carl Edwards? Jeff Burton? or Jeff Gordon??
You bet.
At least, I do.
Oh, and I am routing for Clint Bowyer to really do well the next ten races putting this stupid , message sending, penalty behind him.
P.Gozzo, Paul Gozzo, www.paulgozzo.com
No comments:
Post a Comment