Monday, September 27, 2010

Denny, Denny, Denny

Is it me or does Denny Hamlin make it hard for you to like him too?

In watching Denny get better and better each year, along with Joe Gibbs racing, I can't help but think of the way Jimmy Johnson raced so well for years collecting wins but not yet championships before he won 4 in a row. I thought this year, maybe Denny Hamlin finally will win this thing. But, and this is a big one, but I am not sure I want him to win it especially after his arrogant comments this weekend before the race at Dover. Why would he get involved in talking trash about RCR's problems? Yes, there is a psychological aspect of racing especially at the highest levels, but his comments served no psychological effect. They only served as a distraction for him and his team and gave the edge to.....not RCR, but ole 4 time, Jimmy Johnson. Yes, that's right, Jimmy Johnson was the winner in the Hamlin/RCR feud and until he is beat, Jimmy Johnson is the man to beat. So as much as Hamlin likes himself, his season so far, and his points lead, he isn't the authority yet until he wins a championship, so he is going to have to get a little more diplomatic with his mouth.

Ya know who else won the RCR/Hamlin battle this week? Denny's teammate, Kyle Bush. Ya that's right. Kyle is quietly putting together a championship season and doing it by not pissing anyone off. Well, anyone who could hurt him. He has ruffled a few feathers of the younger drivers, but that is part of the hazing/growing process at the top level. My point is that as long as the Bush is not in the spotlight for negative stuff, the lack of distractions will help him to perform.

Two races into the Chase, Hamlin is in the lead, Johnson in second, and this year's champion is somewhere between 3rd and 8th....because Kyle, Kurt, Kevin, Carl, Jeff or Jeff is going to win it.

No one is going to cut Denny or Jimmy any slack and as the racing gets tougher and tougher the closer we get to Homestead, the guy who has friends out there and can drive aggressively at the same time will win this year's championship. Does this sound like Kyle Bush? Kurt Bush (not sure about how many friends he has out there) ? Kevin Harvick? Carl Edwards? Jeff Burton? or Jeff Gordon??

You bet.

At least, I do.

Oh, and I am routing for Clint Bowyer to really do well the next ten races putting this stupid , message sending, penalty behind him.

P.Gozzo, Paul Gozzo, www.paulgozzo.com

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Race 1 of The Chase

So my picks and the guys I like were running well all day....but that doesn't necessarily equate to a good points finish.

Stewart ran out of gas, but he ran so well, I am not counting him out.

Bowyer has that all important momentum and for a guy who is very consistent, look out for this wild card. We saw him start this way three years ago and Biffle started even better two years ago, but The Chase is a grind, and so we really can't pick a top 5 until after 3-4 races.

I still like Gordon, Edwards, and Bush (Kyle)....because of their ability to turn bad days into good ones, and good ones into top 5's. Although I do feel as though you will have to win a race or 2-3 to win The Chase and in the past this has proven true, because this year's Chase field is so even at the start, with all that parity, this may just be the year someone wins without a win....and the two of my three picks have proven that they are great points racers.

So onto Dover and The Monster Mile. Who do you like?

I'm sticking with my three picks (Bush, Gordon, Edwards) and the two that I want to see do well (Bowyer, Smoke). Everyone says that we must get through three races before looking at the picture and I agree. At this point you can't count out JJ, but let's be honest, the mojo/luck isn't there this year and other drivers are racing him A LOT harder.

It has been rough/aggressive and the racing will get even more so. Patience and an even keel like Hamlin displayed last week will help the eventual winner win a championship.

P.Gooz, PaulGozzo, www.PaulGozzo.com

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

So The Chase is set

So the Chase is set.

Who do you like?

There is a lot of talk about Hamlin dethroning Johnson and just as much talk about Johnson being the man until he loses but I argue both bandwagons.

While Denny Hamlin would be a great champion and represent the "younger drivers" well, his team will have to have a run like they had in the Spring of this year in order to do it. DH is consistent overall, but tough stretches have hampered him for years. IE: what drivers call, "bad luck." Remember, Jimmie Johnson was Mr. Consistency for years while battling bad luck before he finally won a championship. So, net-net, Denny is going to do well, win a race or two, but ultimately a couple of really bad finishes will prevent him from winning it all this year.

With JJ, what will prevent him from 5-peteing?? Simply put, other drivers. This year no one has cut JJ any slack and in the Chase it will get worse. This team is still the best, but they will not win it all. Look for Curt Bush to seek some revenge from Jimmie wrecking him early this year and others to cash in those chips including teammate and partial owner, Jeff Gordon.

This year's winner will not have one miserable race and will have to win 2 at a minimum.

My call is Jeff Gordon, Carl Edwards, or Kyle Bush. But I'm routing for Smoke and Clint Bowyer. I will explain more later.

P.Gozzo, Paul Gozzo, http://www.paulgozzo.com/