Monday, August 30, 2010

Congratulations Boris Said

Did you know that Sunday's Nationwide winner has actually trained several oval track regulars on the techniques of racing road courses? Boris Said has trained too many to mention including several road course winners like Carl Edwards who often show up to the track with better equipment because of the deeper and better funded teams they race for regularly. This past weekend, Boris Said, racing in an underfunded car, managed to keep his car relatively intact, and his mind focused well enough to get the lead back with one turn to go and win in a photo finish in Montreal. It was a great finish to a great race that was filled with a lot of emotion which in the stock car world means, beatin-n=bangin.

Congratulations Boris Said and your loyal Said-Head fans!

Paul Gozzo
PaulGozzo.com

Monday, August 16, 2010

Compelling weekend for series leaders...Bodine, Keselowlski, and Harvick (Paul Gozzo)

Todd Bodine, Brad Keselowski, and Kevin Harvick who are all series leaders in points, ALL win these weekend at very difficult tracks. All three series points leaders demonstrated why they are leading their respective divisions of stock car racing this past weekend in impressive fashion.

(Paul Gozzo)

While I believe Keselowski and Bodine will go on to win their series, Nationwide and Camping World, I DO NOT BELIEVE Harvick will win The Sprint Cup.....simply because of The Chase format. While consistency is rewarded in the other two series, it is not in The Cup series at the end of the year; simply put, ya must win. While the top 25 drivers in Cup are all great, and 12 make The Chase, the year will come down to a half dozen guys who can really win this year's championship.

Curt Bush
Kevin Harvick
Jimmie Johnson
Jeff Gordon
Denny Hamlin
Kyle Bush

All of these guys can win.

Monday, August 2, 2010

Pocono (Congratulations Greg Biffle)

Wow. (Paul Gozzo)

What a race.

The Pocono races often get a bad rap from fans. It is too long, it is boring. Well, all that has changed and why, I have no idea.

I went to Pocono in 2008 and it was a lot of fun. The fans were great and the venue very friendly, including the worlds largest urinal!

So the rain does play a factor every year. So what. It makes this track as unique as its 3 different corners.

Have you noticed who drives well at Pocono.....consistently well? It is the guys who can break well. It is also the same guys who perform on road courses.

Moving forward we will see this track get more and more publicity because BOTH races there this weekend were great AND because they are the first sports facility in the world that is truly GOING GREEN, as in their solar field investment will power the track annually leaving leftover energy to be sold back to the power grid!

Pocono should have a Chase Race! There, I said it. Yes, they already have two summer races, but a fall race would be gorgeous there and DIFFERENT than the warmer summer races...maybe they won't even have rain!

P.Gozzo
Paul Gozzo