Wednesday, May 19, 2010

Bowyer placed on probation after Dover incident (Paul Gozzo)

I, Paul Gozzo, am a Clint Bowyer fan.

www.paulgozzo.com

Bowyer does not run a full time Nationwide schedule, so when he does race at that level, you can bet he is running to win. Most part timers are like this, especially the Cup guys who come down to The Nationwide for a race. Other "double duty" drivers who run full time in Cup and Nationwide generally run for championships with the exception of Kyle Bush who tends to do both. So, does putting Bowyer on probation for a few weeks in the Nationwide series really punish him for taking out Hamlin under caution last week in Dover? I think not. It is less than a slap on the wrist.

Both guys were running for the win and clearly not as strong as the leader and eventual race winner, Kyle Bush. The incident triggering event occurred on a restart near the end of the race when Bowyer, on older tires, spun them a little bit on the restart and Hamlin who was behind Bowyer, clipped is left rear in the process sending Bowyer up the track wrecking him and others in a chain reaction.

After watching replays, this does not appear to be a vicious attack but more the product of hard nosed racing. Bowyer spun his tires not because he is a rookie but because he had older tires, so not really his fault. Hamlin clipped Bowyer, not becasue he is a dirty driver, but because he mashed the pedal in order to give it his all for the win and to go after his teammate, Kyle Bush, who clearly had the best car all day. No one is at fault here.

However, Bowyer's reaction under caution was a bit much and implies to me that their is more to this story. Bowyer could have spoken with Hamlin later in the garage, but he chose to wipe Hamlin out instead....under caution....certainly knowing he would be punished by NASCAR.

What ticks me off about Bowyer is that I previously had liked him a lot as a driver who charges it in the Nationwide series and races for points in the Cup series. He is an old dirt tracker and those guys are my favorite. however, I have noticed an arrogance in Bowyer lately that was either not there in previous years or he kept it well hidden, but he acted like a champ would and he is not a champion....yet.

Bowyer also isn't intimidating anyone. There was only one guy in the past 20 years who could do that and everyone else who tries fails miserably.

No comments:

Post a Comment