Tuesday, June 28, 2011

NASCAR Road Courses

Do ya like em or not?
Personally, I don't mind them. But then again, I don't really watch them either. Maybe that's why.
When I did watch the road courses, they frustrated me. I mean, yeah there is action, yippie. almost all auto racing has "action". But I didn't like so much of it, probably just like you. From the left turning, to the hills, to the the "road course experts", it's just annoying.
Now that I am older, I can appreciate the fact that these races bringing stock car racing to fans in areas that otherwise would not have seen a race, so that is nice. Also, I appreciate how drivers work hard to improve their skills in order to improve. Just think of how much time they will potentially put into learning how to drive road courses just so they can give themselves a chance to pick-up some points. just look at Kurt Bush, who I can't stand by the way. He dominated and won this past weekend in Sonoma. (apparently, I didn't watch it).
On another note.....Daytona this weekend...in the summer heat! You bet I will be watching all the races this weekend although I'm not too psyched that Tony Stewart is racing for Kevin Harvick (the most political and full of s!&# driver in NASCAR).

Monday, June 13, 2011

Jeff Gordon wins again....Lebron loses (Dirk wins)

Sunday was a big day in sports here in the U.S.
Just another Sunday race for NASCAR's top division, but then again every race is a big deal. Just ask any fan who makes their first trip to a NASCAR Cup race, or their annual trip,. every single one of them is a big, big deal.
And last night, game 6 of the NBA Finals which is a rematch of the finals from 5 years ago...when the underdog Miami Heat overcame being down 2-0 and almost 20 points in game 3 to turn around and win game 3 and the series eventually...
Both events Sunday featured a mix of veteran athletes and younger talent, great coaches, and the like. I couldn't help but think about Jeff Gordon's win and 5th win at Pocono and compare him to the basketball players who played in the finals. When Gordon came into NASCAR, he was hated....but eventually he turned that hate into love by WINNING. Lebron has yet to do this for all his haters, and their are lots of them, but he may in time, especially if he can change some of the things he does like make big plays down the stretch more consistently and curb his comments in front of cameras. as Gordon learned, winning championships is different than winning games. It takes an entire team and it is about the team through course of action, not words.
Personally I am not a Lebron hater. I don't know much about basketball and choose only to really watch college basketball. But I don't like him either. And, while I don't hate him or like him, I do want to see him win a championship because I like seeing elite players reach their ultimate goal. I enjoyed seeing Wade do it in '06 against the odds and Dirk et all do it this year against the odds. Those are the best stories, when the underdog(s) win especially when it is a collaborative effort.
That's why seeing Jeff Gordon win twice now this year is so nice to see. He is not just running up front, some things are clicking to help him actually win....and that has me thinking Championship potential. Even though Gordo is not in the top 5 in points, 2 of his 3 teammates are running well and he is too...plus he is winning. So THE TEAM is firing on all cylinders and that gives me great hope for this veteran to win it all this year. Again, I am not a huge fan of Jeff Gordon or Hendrick, but I do like him/them, and seeing him win is nice to see.
Paul Gozzo